Wagoner County OK Homepage

Marriage Licenses

General Marriage License Information

The Marriage License Division of the Wagoner County Court Clerk's Office is located on the first floor of the Wagoner County Courthouse, 307 E Cherokee, Wagoner, OK. To apply for a marriage license both parties need to be present at the Court Clerk's Office between the hours of 8 am and 4:30 pm. Monday through Friday. You may contact us at 918-485-4508.

Just a Friendly Note: Please, if you are coming in just to obtain your marriage license, come in no later than 4 pm.


To obtain a copy of a marriage license or a copy of the decree of dissolution of marriage visit the Court Clerk's Office between the hours of 8 am and 4:30 pm. Monday through Friday. You may contact 918-485-4508 for marriage license or decree of dissolution of marriage assistance.

The following information is a summary of marriage license requirements under Oklahoma law and there are other requirements than are listed here. Please refer to statutes for more detailed information. You may view these statutes (43 O.S. 1 et seq.) at the Oklahoma State Courts Network, www.oscn.net.

Proof of Age & Identity

Acceptable forms of identification include current state-issued driver's license, birth certificate with raised seal, current passport, etc. Generally speaking, acceptable forms of identification include those issued by the state or federal government of the United States. Persons age 18 and older are considered adults for purposes of marriage.

Age 16 to 17

Consent of parent or guardian, as applicable. Please refer to statute for more detailed information.

Age 15 and Younger

Marriage is prohibited in this state except by court order. Please refer to statute for more detailed information.


Persons divorced in Oklahoma may not marry anyone in this state other than their previous spouse for a period of six months from the date of the decree of dissolution of marriage (formally referred to as a divorce decree).

Residency Requirements

There are no residency requirements, but the marriage must be performed in Oklahoma.

Waiting Period

No waiting period required except for those under the age of 18. If under age 18, there is a 72 hour waiting period unless there is a waiver signed by a judge, parent, or guardian.

Statutory Fees

Fees are $50 payable in cash at the office of the Court Clerk. However, the fee is reduced to $5 if the applicants present a certificate issued by a health professional or an official representative of a religious institution, as described by 43 O.S. 5.1, demonstrating that the applicants have completed at least 4 hours of pre-marital counseling.

Miscellaneous Matters

To avoid waiting in line, we suggest that you apply for your license early in the day, and that you make application a few days before your scheduled wedding date, in order to provide yourself an opportunity to address any unforeseen difficulties which may be encountered in processing your license.

For marriage license purposes, the court clerk is not able to identify an applicant in any manner other than that described in the identification which the applicant has presented to the court clerk. Former names, prior divorces and the like often present identification issues if identification presented does not match the names by which applicants identify themselves. In such cases where variances of identity arise, it may be necessary to present certified copies of court orders, divorce decrees, etc., to the court clerk in order to establish identity of the applicant.

Please be aware that marriage license procedures and fees are set by statute and are subject to amendment by the legislature.

  1. Wagoner County OK Homepage

  1. 307 E Cherokee Street Wagoner, OK 74467

  1. Phone: 918-485-2216

Government Websites by CivicPlus®
Arrow Left Arrow Right
Slideshow Left Arrow Slideshow Right Arrow